NYX Spring Fling Palette – Review

20140104-223114.jpg

NYX Spring Fling Palette

I while back I went to Clicks on one of my many trips (love that shop)looking for a nice blush and came across this Palette! NYX Spring Fling Palette, It stood out for me because it has two blushes (score) and ten eyeshadows, two lipglosses and some extra shadows supposedly used for contour and highlight! The packing is so cute, the shadows are right under the flip-up lid that has a nice mirror, while the blushes, lip glosses and extra two eye shadows are in a nice compact drawer. All that for the price of R150.00 and considering its NYX  I grabbed and brought it home with me. I thing the catch name played a big influence too.

EYESHADOWS

I was not too impressed with the shadows in this palette, I was expecting very smooth to apply and pigmented shadows, but this were chalky powdery and so loose that to get the pigment you want you need a couple of strokes,  because one stroke shows literally nothing as seen on the swatches bellow. They seem pigmented on the palette but on the skin its pale even on a dark toned skin like mine! Its ok for day to day nude looks but if you enjoy a pop of color then rather go for something else.

BLUSHES

Because blush is what i was looking for these really impressed me, they are nicely pigmented or should i say very pigmented, they come in two shades a bright pink and a peach pink and on the contrary to the shadows they apply really smooth.

You also get a black and white shadows  inside the drawer that could be used as highlight and contour but not for me though. And finally the two lip glosses that come in a sheer clear gloss and a hot pink inside a narrow rectangular pan, I love the glosses they feel so smooth on the lips and some what moisturising  too, its just a mission to take it and apply due to their confined space.

PROS:

  • very nice pastel nudey eyeshadows
  • peach blusher my absolute favourite
  • lipglosses are smooth and mosturising

Cons

  • pink blusher is tooooo pigmented for my skin tone
  • eyesshadows are too powdery and hard to build the pigmentation

Final Verdict

The palette is really cute and all but didnt add up to my expectations, I can create some fun summer nude looks but its not your OTP VA VA VOOM palette. I still love NYX and want to try more of their individual products.

Will I repurchase?

I believe this will last me a lil while, I will not be repurchasing this particular palette but will instead try Nyx’s vast range of individual products.

20140104-223125.jpg

20140104-223156.jpg

NYX spring Fling eye shadow swatch

20140104-223134.jpg

20140104-223205.jpg

NYX spring fling Blush and lipgloss swatch

20140104-223214.jpg

look created using Nyx fling spring palette

Have your tried this palette? Whats your take on it? Did you try any other Nyx products? Drop a comment, love to hear from you…

Thanks for reading xxx

3 thoughts on “NYX Spring Fling Palette – Review

Leave a Reply

