Primers: Get to know them!!

So, I have not heard about this beauty goodies until very recently when I went for a skin consultation and the beauty therapist suggested them to me. Since it was Clinique and I had just finished purchasing the 3 step system (yay) I took her advice and went on the hunt for primers to smooth out my pores on the sides of my nose not really huge but hey they need covering :p

Before we go onto what I found on the shopping journey here is a little bio on primers:

A cosmetic primer is a cream or lotion applied before another cosmetic to improve coverage and lengthen the amount of time the cosmetic lasts on the face. There are different kinds of cosmetic primers such as foundation primer, eyelid primer, lip primer, and mascara primer (yes there is a primer for that too)

Face primers are most commonly used to help prepare your skin for foundation application by smoothing out the texture of your skin. It helps you apply foundation easily and smoothly as well as help eye shadows, blush, and lipstick last longer.

Primers can help by reducing the look of large pores, filling in fine lines, and preventing foundation from looking cakey.  They also help with evening out the skin tone and making your makeup last much longer throughout the day!

You can apply foundation primer as the first step in full makeup application, or wear it on its own for a natural, but polished look.

So the very first primer I found and used ever ever  was the Woolworths Face Smoothing Primer

Image

This primer is really lovely, its a clear light silicone gel that smooths onto the skin leaving it feeling peach skin alike, i really liked the fact that it did minimize my pores and honestly I loved using it on its own because of its flawless finish. It retails for about R200 @ Woolworths and lasts 3+ months depending on usage.

I love the fact that is approved by Beauty Without Cruelty and contains no Harsh ingredients.

Con: the bottle is made of glass, i could not squeeze the very last of the product and the pump was useless, instead i would open it up and take the product from the pump little tube.

Then I found the Palladio Herbal Foundation Primer:

ImageThis primer I absolutely love, use it every day not much difference from the Woolies primer, its enriched with Aloe Vera and Chamomile and helps prevent loss of dehydration throughout the day, it also helps the foundation stay on place even on the warmest of days. Like the Woolies primer I sometimes love to wear it on its own for a smooth yet chic look.

Available at Dischem for R60-70.

I wanna try more  products from this brand.

Those are the primers I have tried so far, they are the perfect start to a radiant face and should be in every girls makeup bag. Although I love this primers I want to try other primers and my wishlist consists of the following based on the great reviews from fellow bloggers and youtube vloggers some high range others just average and light on the pocket:

ImageImage

ImageImage

This are just a few i wanna try but my kill to have has to be the POREfessional, dont think its available in SA but hope it will be soon (fingers crossed).

Do you girls use primers? Which ones are your favorites? Leave a comment below I would love to read.

Thanks for reading.

Hugs and Kisses

Leave a Reply

